Skip to main content

Retained List - 2016

Posted: Fri 06 May 2016

Details of contracts offers, etc...

After a lengthy session talking to all our professionals – with none of them in contract for the new season – manager Gary Mills has issued the following:

Offered New Contracts:
Mark Carrington
Rob Evans
Jamal Fyfield
Simon Heslop
Kayden Jackson - turned down his offer
Connor Jennings
Sean Newton - accepted a new deal

Players Released:
Cameron Belford
Louis Briscoe
Iwan Cartwright
Jake Doran
Lee Fowler
James Gray
Blaine Hudson
Adriano Moke
Danny Reynolds
Jonathan Royle
Aaron Simpson
Manny Smith
Javan Vidal
Ross White
Joe Williams
Wes York

In addition, the club is speaking with Rhys Taylor with regard to next season.

"Some fans will disappointed about some of those released, but we have thought long and hard about the list," said the boss.

"Delighted that Sean Newton has not only agreed, but been in to sign a new one-year contract this morning.

"We offered a deal to Kayden, but he has declined that and we'll see where that goes.

"I spoke with a new player this morning and hoping to hear shortly if he is coming to us.

"We will also be speaking with Rhys Taylor about next season, but he is still a Newport player at the moment.

"Come the beginning of July, I hope to have the squad assembled ready for next year."

The club would like to thank all those who have been released for their efforts on our behalf and we wish them well.