Skip to main content Skip to site footer



Wrexham AFC was founded in 1864, making it Wales' oldest professional Football Club and the third oldest in the world. Founded by members of Wrexham Cricket Club at a meeting at the Turf Hotel, looking for a sport to fill the winter months, and also part-driven by a social group in the town looking to provide more enriching hobbies for Wrexham's young men, the team played their first match on October 22, 1864, against the Prince of Wales Fire Brigade at the Racecourse.

The Football Association of Wales formed in the town in 1876, and Wrexham beat Druids to win the first ever Welsh Cup Final in 1878 (pictured). The Club went on to win a record 23 Welsh Cups, and finished runners-up on 22 occasions, before competition changes in 1995 meant the Welsh clubs playing in the English football system were no longer allowed to enter.


With the exception of two seasons in the Welsh League between 1894 and 1896, both of which they won, Wrexham have otherwise played in English football competitions since first entering the Combination in 1890. They were elected to the Birmingham and District League in 1905 before becoming founder members of the new Third Division North in 1921.

Wrexham remained in the Football League from then until 2008, when they were relegated to the Football Conference, later renamed as the National League. They returned to the EFL after a 15-year absence with a record-breaking title win in 2023 - earning 111 points, the highest ever by a team in the top five tiers of English football.

In the Football League, the Club's pinnacle was achieved in 1978, when they were promoted to the Second Division under legendary former player and manager Arfon Griffiths and remained in the second tier for four seasons. Away from league football, Wrexham earned a reputation as cup giant-killers - reaching the quarter-finals of both the League Cup and FA Cup in 1977/78, and reaching the last eight in the latter competition again in 1996/97. Famous cup victories include beating reigning league champions Arsenal in 1992, as well as wins against top-flight opponents such as Newcastle United, West Ham United, Ipswich Town and Middlesbrough during their storied history. Through success in the Welsh Cup, Wrexham were also eligible to enter the European Cup Winners' Cup - reaching the quarter-finals once in 1976, as well as beating FC Porto and drawing with teams such as Real Zaragoza and Anderlecht during their time in the competition.

Barry Horne - Porto.jpg

The Club suffered turmoil at the start of the 21st century, and had to fight to keep their Racecourse Ground home when then-chairman Alex Hamilton attempted to evict the Club in 2004. Wrexham entered administration the same year, becoming the first league club to suffer a ten-point deduction - leading to relegation back to the fourth tier at the end of the season. Despite the off-pitch problems, on the pitch the Club won their first English cup competition - the LDV Vans Trophy - beating Southend United 2-0 in the 2005 Final at the Millennium Stadium, Cardiff. 

After courts ruled in the Club's favour, allowing them to remain at the Racecourse Ground, and they came out of administration, further financial problems followed after relegation out of the Football League. In 2011, supporters raised more than £100,000 in just 24 hours to allow the Club to pay the Football Conference a bond and retain their place in the league. A few months later, the Club became supporter-owned, under the Wrexham Supporters Trust.

In November 2020, shortly after football returned following the COVID-19 pandemic, actors Rob McElhenney and Ryan Reynolds made a bid to take over ownership of the Football Club. After passing a supporter vote, the takeover was confirmed on February 9, 2021. As part of the takeover, the Club became subject of the award-winning Welcome to Wrexham documentary. In 2023, promotion back to the EFL was achieved.


Football League

Division Three Champions.jpg 

Third Division (3rd level) - Champions 1977/78
Division Three (4th level) - Runners-up (Promoted) 1992/93 
Division Three (4th level) - 3rd Place (Promoted) 2002/03 
Fourth Division (4th level) - Runners-up (Promoted) 1969/70 
Fourth Division (4th level) - 3rd Place (Promoted) 1961/62
Third Division North (3rd level) - 2nd Place (not promoted) 1932/33

Football Conference


Champions - 2022/23
Runners-up - 2011/12, 2021/22
Play-Off Finalists - 2012/13

Football League Trophy

p.29 - LDV Vans Trophy.jpg

Winners - 2004/05

FA Trophy

p.12-13 - Andy Morrell - Dean Keates - FA Trophy.jpg

Winners - 2012/13
Runners-up - 2014/15, 2021/22

Welsh Cup 

Gary Bennett - Welsh Cup.jpg

Winners - 23 times (record)
Runners-up - 22 times

FAW Premier Cup

Winners - 1997/98, 1999/00, 2000/01, 2002/03 & 2003/04
Runners-up - 1998/99, 2004/05 & 2005/06

European Cup Winners' Cup

Quarter Finalists - 1975/76

FA Cup

Quarter Finalists - 1973/74, 1977/78 & 1996/97

League Cup

Quarter Finalists - 1960/61 & 1977/78

Wrexham AFC Women

Adran North (Women)

p.120 - Back Cover.jpg

Champions - 2022/23
Runners-up - 2021/22

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account