ADVENT CALENDAR | Wrexham AFC's number 10s

Macclesfield Town
Posted:Mon 10 Dec 2018

Already in place in the top flight, squad numbers were introduced into the English Football League ahead of the 1999/2000 season – making this the 20th season of Wrexham squad numbers since.

Some names and numbers will be permanently linked in Wrexham fans’ minds: “Ugarte 30”, “Edwards 7”, “Sam 23”, “Ferguson 10” … the list goes on, right up until “Carrington 13” in the current squad.

But what is the story behind each of Wrexham’s squad numbers? And who have the current crop of players got to live up to?

10 – Captain. Leader. Legend?

Current- Chris Holroyd

While Wrexham’s number ten may be most associated with a midfield general since the introduction of squad numbers, it is little surprise to find the majority of former number tens were strikers.

That includes the incumbent number ten, Chris Holroyd, now in his second season at the Racecourse having left Macclesfield in 2017.

Holroyd was last season’s top goalscorer, netting 13 times in 34 games for the club, but an injury-hit start to the campaign and the form of his fellow strikers has restricted opportunities this season.

He did score and play a starring role in the electrifying first-half at home to Ebbsfleet, however – Wrexham’s biggest win during Sam Ricketts’ short-lived reign as manager.

Chris Holroyd vs Ebbsfleet

First- Dean Spink

Named Player of the Season the previous year, Dean Spink was handed the number ten jersey for the 1999-2000 season.

A cult hero at Shrewsbury Town, Spink made more than 300 appearances for the club between 1990 and 1997 before signing for Wrexham in the summer.

Capable of playing up front or at the back, Spink scored in each leg of the FAW Premier Cup semi-finals as Wrexham went on to win the inaugural trophy.

He was named Player of the Season the following year, but his season in the number ten jersey saw him play just 15 league games and have a brief stint back on loan at the Gay Meadow.

He was released in the summer and made the short trip to sign for Graham Barrow's Chester, having made 85 league appearances in his three years at Wrexham – scoring nine goals.

Longest- Darren Ferguson

Former Manchester United and Wolves midfielder Darren Ferguson, son of Sir Alex, joined Wrexham in 1999 after a brief loan in the Netherlands with Sparta Rotterdam.

He would go on to spend eight years at the Racecourse, leading the club to promotion and LDV Vans Trophy success as captain, and make more than 300 appearances for the club.

He wore number 32 in his first season at the club, during which he scored in the FA Cup defeat of Middlesbrough, and took over the number ten for the 2000/01 season.

After being linked with the manager’s job, aged just 29, when Brian Flynn left in 2001, Ferguson went on to captain the team to promotion back to Division Two in 2002/03.

Two years later, he was captain at the Millennium Stadium – and scored the second goal – as Wrexham won the LDV Vans Trophy.

Again he was linked with the vacant manager’s job when Dennis Smith was sacked in January 2007, but was over-looked in favour of former team-mate Brian Carey.

Instead, Ferguson took the Peterborough United job, knocking the Dragons out of the FA Cup the following season, and has since also managed Preston North End and Doncaster Rovers either side of a second spell at Posh.

Embed from Getty Images

Promotion heroes and cup-final kings

As mentioned, Darren Ferguson wore number ten when he captained the team to promotion in the 2002/03 season – the Scottish midfield general playing in 41 of the 46 league games and scoring two goals.

He was also captain at the Millennium Stadium in 2005 and scored the second goal in the LDV Vans Trophy win against Southend – firing in from close-range to seal victory.

Brett Ormerod wore number ten at Wembley in 2013, playing the first 77 minutes of the FA Trophy final win against Grimsby. Ormerod’s miss at the same venue six weeks later, in the play-off final, would prove costly as Wrexham missed out on promotion, however.

Wrexham’s Number 10s

1999-2000: Dean Spink (15 league apps/0 goals)
2000-2007: Darren Ferguson (260 apps/20 goals)
2007: Michael Carvill (6 apps/0 goals)
2007-2008: Michael Proctor (40 apps/11 goals)
2008: Matt Jansen (3 apps/1 goal)
2009: Shaun Whalley (16 apps/4 goals)
2009-2011: Marc Williams (18 apps/0 goals)
2011-2012: Jake Speight (38 apps/21 goals)
2012-2014: Brett Ormerod (74 apps/12 goals)
2014-2015: Andy Bishop (39 apps/7 goals)
2015-2016: Connor Jennings (45 apps/14 goals)
2016-2017: John Rooney (33 apps/11 goals)
2017: Scott McHarrie (0 apps)
2017-: Chris Holroyd (44 apps/14 goals)*
+Stats only include matches played in the specified jersey, does not include play-offs
*Up to 01/12/2018

arrow-45degchevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up cross facebook instagramletter linked-in logo-social-youtubemap-marker minusplay-solidplay plus quote-mark skype tripadvisor twitter whatsapp youtube