ADVENT CALENDAR | Wrexham AFC's Number 6s

Macclesfield Town
Posted:Thu 06 Dec 2018

Already in place in the top flight, squad numbers were introduced into the English Football League ahead of the 1999/2000 season – making this the 20th season of Wrexham squad numbers since.

Some names and numbers will be permanently linked in Wrexham fans’ minds: “Ugarte 30”, “Edwards 7”, “Sam 23”, “Ferguson 10” … the list goes on, right up until “Carrington 13” in the current squad.

But what is the story behind each of Wrexham’s squad numbers? And who have the current crop of players got to live up to?

6 – The World Cup giant

Current – vacant (last worn by Scott Burgess)

Following the end of Scott Burgess’ loan spell, Wrexham’s number six jersey is currently unassigned.

The 21-year-old signed on loan from Bury in August, having helped Macclesfield to promotion last season, but the performances of his fellow midfielders saw opportunities limited at the Racecourse.

Burgess made his debut during the Bank Holiday Monday trip to Solihull, replacing Luke Summerfield for the final half-hour, but he only played a couple of minutes more in the rest of his spell.

Those minutes came as a late stoppage-time substitute in the FA Cup fourth qualifying round replay against Harrogate – profiting from the fact restrictions on loan players are lifted for the cup.

First – Jason Jarrett

Wrexham’s first official number six saw little in the way of action at the Racecourse too – Jason Jarrett having been handed the jersey ahead of the 1999-2000 season.

Jarrett’s one and only appearance for the Dragons was one to forget – a 5-1 defeat away to Gillingham, in which he played the full 90 minutes and was booked.

By the end of the season, youth graduate Adrian Moody had been handed the number six jersey – though he had reverted to number 31 by the time he made his league debut the following season.

By that point, David Ridler had been handed the number six, for what proved to be his final season with the club.

Longest – Dennis Lawrence

Having followed compatriots Carlos Edwards and Hector Sam to the Racecourse towards the end of the previous season, Dennis Lawrence was handed the number six jersey for the 2001-2002 campaign.

The giant 6’8” Trinidad and Tobago defender suffered a difficult start to life at Wrexham, with some underwhelming performances, but finished his Racecourse career five years later as a cult hero.

The gangly defender was a towering presence at the back during the 2002-03 promotion season and was voted Player of the Year after his performances the following campaign in Divison Two.

Named captain, he was closing in on 200 league appearances for the club when he became the first Wrexham AFC player to play at a World Cup – featuring in all three group matches at the 2006 tournament.

Indeed, it was Lawrence who had scored the goal that earned Trinidad and Tobago their place at the World Cup.

Lawrence remained with the club at the start of the following season but had played just three matches when he moved south to join Swansea.

Incidentally, he was one of three number sixes that season – Craig Morgan returning on a month’s loan and playing one game in the jersey, before Brian Carey re-registered as a player without getting back on the field.

He would go on to help the Swans earn promotion to the Championship before returning to his native Trinidad in 2009 – having a brief trial back at Wrexham later that season, without signing. He now manages the national team.

Promotion heroes and cup final kings

Dennis Lawrence played 32 matches as Wrexham won promotion from Division Three in 2002/03 and played the full 120 minutes as the Dragons won the LDV Vans Trophy Final in 2005 too.

Martin Riley was the number six at Wembley in 2013, picking up a booking before Wrexham won the FA Trophy on penalties.

Wrexham’s Number 6s

1999: Jason Jarrett (1 app/0 goals)
2000: Adrian Moody (0 apps)
2000-2001: David Ridler (24 apps/0 goals)
2001-2006: Dennis Lawrence (198 apps/14 goals)
2006: Craig Morgan (1 app/0 goals)
2006-2007: Brian Carey (0 apps)
2007-2008: Richard Hope (33 apps/0 goals)
2008-2009: Nat Brown (7 apps/0 goals)
2009-2010: Mike Williams (30 apps/4 goals)
2010-2012: Jay Harris (78 apps/7 goals)
2012-2013: Martin Riley (34 apps/0 goals)
2013-2015: Joe Clarke (86 apps/8 goals)
2015-2016: Jamal Fyfield (43 apps/0 goals)
2016-2017: Curtis Tilt (36 apps/1 goal)
2017-2018: David Raven (7 apps/0 goals)
2018: Scott Burgess (1 app/0 goals)
+Stats only include matches played in the specified jersey, does not include play-offs
*Up to 01/12/2018

arrow-45degchevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up cross facebook instagramletter linked-in logo-social-youtubemap-marker minusplay-solidplay plus quote-mark skype tripadvisor twitter whatsapp youtube