SQUAD UPDATE | Wrexham AFC squad update at end of 2019-20 season

Macclesfield Town
Posted:Wed 01 Jul 2020

Wrexham AFC would like to issue an update on the playing squad, following the conclusion of the 2019-20 Vanarama National League season.

Today’s announcement comes at a time of uncertainty for football. A return to football at National League level would be very difficult under the current restrictions, but it is hoped that those restrictions can be lifted over the coming weeks and enable us to make a go-forward plan.

We have continued to have conversations with the National League and Government Officials to highlight the importance of returning to football for the business, and we will keep supporters updated as soon as we get more certainty on next steps.

It is on the back of this uncertain outlook that we are providing an update on the squad for season 2020/21. This is slightly different from the traditional retained list, in that the club is not yet in a position to offer new contracts.

Eleven players will be released and a further five players’ loan spells have ended.

A total of seven players are already under contract for next season, and we can confirm a further five players whom the club intend to open discussions with when we have a certainty on football returning.

Wrexham AFC would like to place on record its thanks to the players who are leaving us for their efforts and commitment during their time at the Racecourse, and for their sacrifice during the furlough period. We wish them well for their future careers.

The following players are contracted for the 2020-21 season:
Shaun Pearson
Luke Young
Bobby Grant
Rob Lainton
Devonte Redmond
Jay Harris
Daniel Jarvis

Players who we would open discussions with when we have certainty on Football returning: 
James Jennings
Mark Carrington
Paul Rutherford
Davis Keillor-Dunn
Christian Dibble

Players to be released:
Jake Lawlor
Akil Wright
Luke Summerfield
Jazzi Barnum-Bobb
Jason Oswell
Doug Tharme
Leighton McIntosh
JJ Hooper
Matthew Sargent
Jack Thorn
Dawid Szczepaniak

The following players’ loan spells at Wrexham AFC have ended:
Kieran Kennedy
Jordan Ponticelli
Jordon Thompson
Kyle Barker
Tyler Garratt

arrow-45degchevron-down chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up cross facebook instagramletter linked-in logo-social-youtubemap-marker minusplay-solidplay plus quote-mark skype tripadvisor twitter whatsapp youtube